Members Directory > McDonald Hopkins LLC

Attorneys. Advisors. Advocates.
As a business advisory and advocacy law firm, McDonald Hopkins is focused on insightful legal solutions that help their clients strategically plan for an increasingly competitive future. The firm has 150 attorneys based in six strategic locations—Chicago, Cleveland, Columbus, Detroit, Miami, and West Palm Beach. For more than 80 years, McDonald Hopkins’ attorneys and professionals have been helping clients navigate some of the most challenging and timely issues—data privacy and cybersecurity; intellectual property; labor and employment; mergers and acquisitions; taxation; trade secret, non-compete and unfair competition practices; white collar and government compliance, and many more business and litigation topics. McDonald Hopkins: Attorney Insight. Business Foresight.®

McDonald Hopkins has a Washington, D.C.-based wholly-owned subsidiary, McDonald Hopkins Government Strategies LLC, which is led by distinguished former Congressman Steven LaTourette, who served nine terms in the U.S. House of Representatives. He is widely recognized for his bipartisan and solution oriented approach to complicated issues. McDonald Hopkins Government Strategies is not a law firm and does not provide legal services.

Business Law Department
Charles B. Zellmer, Chair
We refuse to provide commodity service. Instead, we strive to be a cut above other law firms by providing you with a combination of business and legal counseling that capitalizes on our years of experience and creative problem solving. Your business challenges become our challenges; your issues are our issues; your dreams are our dreams; and your successes are our successes. In other words, we make your mission our mission. You expect creativity, insightfulness, efficiency, and cooperation. We strive to exceed those expectations every day.

Whether it is a routine supplier contract or a sophisticated corporate transaction, we bring the expertise to achieve the best outcome for our clients.

Our attorneys counsel a variety of businesses in a number of ways:
• Business formation
• Financing
• Mergers, acquisitions, and dispositions
• Operational assistance
• Boardroom counseling
• Contracts
• Everyday business needs

Litigation Department
William J. O'Neill, Chair
Our litigation attorneys have an impressive breadth and depth of experience. We represent clients in virtually all areas of litigation. Our clients include multinational corporations, publicly and privately held companies, entrepreneurs, and individuals. Our expertise includes: antitrust litigation, securities litigation, commercial and financial services litigation, intellectual property, labor and employment litigation, product liability and mass tort litigation, construction law and real estate litigation, white collar crime, data privacy, directors and officers litigation, ERISA litigation, estate and trust litigation, insurance and suretyship, and sales representative litigation and consulting.

Business Restructuring and Bankruptcy Department
Shawn M. Riley and Stephen M. Gross, Co-Chairs
The twists and turns of business restructuring are complex and demanding. Our attorneys approach every case with creativity and insight to ensure the solutions are cost-effective and practical. At every turn, you can be confident that our attorneys will guide you through the process, always providing practical and informed advice. We are positioned to respond to the special demands of a variety of matters in a wide range of industries, including health care, automotive, retail/distribution, franchise distribution and technology, real estate/construction, telecommunications, and mining/exploration.

Estate Planning and Probate Department
Jeffrey P. Consolo, Chair
Our estate planning and probate services for individuals and families are focused on helping clients meet their estate planning objectives through income, estate and gift tax minimization. We take a comprehensive approach to the planning process to ensure that the goals of the family are carried out and that the estate is appropriately managed. Additional specialties include probate/estate administration services, estate/trust litigation services, family foundation counseling, wealth management, and succession planning.


URL: http://www.mcdonaldhopkins.com
Firm Contacts
Carl J. Grassi Carl J. Grassi
Email: cgrassi@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Telephone: +1 (216) 348-5448
Facsimile: +1 (216) 348-5474

Practice Groups:
ESOP Transactions

ILN Specialty Groups:
Estate Planning:Estates & Trusts, Tax Law

William J. O'Neill William J. O'Neill
Email: woneill@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Telephone: +1 (216) 348-5755
Facsimile: +1 (216) 348-5474

Practice Groups:
Directors and Officers Litigation,

ILN Specialty Groups:
International Dispute Resolution, Medical Device and Drug Manufacturing Litigation

Partners Practice Groups Telephone E-mail Address
Mary F. April Appeals, 561-847-2342 mapril@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Patrick J. Berry Mergers and Acquisitions 216-348-5409 pberry@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Richard H. Blake White Collar and Government Compliance (216) 348-5839 rblake@mcdonaldhopkins.com
James J. Boutrous, III Labor and Employment Counseling and Litigation, Social Media, Trade Secret, Non-Compete, and Unfair Competition Practice (248) 220-1355 jboutrous@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Alan M. Burger Franchise, Licensing, and Distribution 561-472-2963 aburger@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Michael Caputo State and Local Government Affairs (216) 348-5770 mcaputo@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Howard K. Coates Securities Litigation 561-847-2346 hcoates@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Jeffrey P. Consolo Estate Planning (216) 348-5805 jconsolo@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Jerome W. Cook Construction Law and Litigation 216-348-5713 jcook@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Jerome W. Cook Insurance and Suretyship (216) 348-5713 jcook@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Richard S. Cooper Healthcare (216) 348-5438 rcooper@mcdonaldhopkins.com
David B. Cupar Intellectual Property (216) 430-2036 dcupar@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Theodore J. Esborn Environmental 216-348-5735 tesborn@mcdonaldhopkins.com
James J. Giszczack Trade Secret, Non-Compete, and Unfair Competition Practice, Sales Representative Litigation and Consulting (248) 220-1354 jgiszczak@mcdonaldhopkins.com
James J. Giszczak Data Privacy and Cybersecurity 248-220-1354 jgiszczak@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Carl J. Grassi ESOP Transactions +1 (216) 348-5448 cgrassi@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Stephen M. Gross Automotive, Business Restructuring and Bankruptcy (248) 220-1337 sgross@mcdonaldhopkins.com
David G. Johnson Executive Compensation and Governance 216-348-5456 djohnson@mcdonaldhopkins.com
David M. Kall Multistate Tax Services, Private Equity, REITs (216) 348-5812 dkall@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Robin E. Kaplan Antitrust and Competition, Antitrust Litigation 305-704-3979 rkaplan@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Mark D. Klimek Nonprofit, Taxation (216) 348-5453 mklimek@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Anthony D. Konkoly Antitrust and Competition, International 216-348-5746 akonkoly@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Michael G. Latiff Business Litigation, OSHA Appeals and Workplace Safety 248-220-1351 mlatiff@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Steven C. LaTourette McDonald Hopkins Government Strategies (MHGS)—A wholly-owned subsidiary of McDonald Hopkins, MHGS is not a law firm and does not provide legal services 202-559-2600 slatourette@mhgsdc.com
Dan L. Makee Business Litigation 216-348-5731 dmakee@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Michael J. Meaney Mergers and Acquisitions, Search Funds (216) 348-5411 mmeaney@mcdonaldhopkins.com
John T. Metzger Real Estate (561)659-1799 jmetzger@mcdonaldhopkins.com
David T. Movius Intellectual Property 216-430-2029 dmovius@mcdonaldhopkins.com
William J. O'Neill Directors and Officers Litigation, +1 (216) 348-5755 woneill@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Scott N. Opincar Franchise, Licensing, and Distribution, Receivership 216-348-5753 sopincar@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Jeffrey Pollock Appeals (216) 348-5715 jpollock@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Bruce E. Reinhart White Collar and Government Compliance (561) 472-2970 breinhart@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Shawn M. Riley Business Restructuring and Bankruptcy, Healthcare Receivership, Restructuring (216) 348-5773 sriley@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Raquel A Rodriguez Life Sciences 305-704-3994 rrodriguez@mcdonaldhopkins.com
James E. Stief Commercial Finance 216-430-2031 jstief@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Dale R. Vlasek Employee Benefits and ERISA (216) 348-5452 dvlasek@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Peter D. Welin Construction Law and Litigation 614-484-0701 pwelin@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Michael W. Wise Energy, Public Finance (216) 430-2034 mwise@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Charles B. Zellmer Business Counseling, Retail and Distribution, Succession Planning (216) 348-5450 czellmer@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Office Locations
Cleveland, Ohio (Main Location)
600 Superior Avenue E.
Suite 2100
Cleveland, Ohio 44114-2653 USA
Telephone: +1 (216) 348-5400
Facsimile: +1 (216) 348-5474
Miami, Florida
Southeast Financial Center
200 South Biscayne Blvd., Suite 2600
Miami, Florida 33131 USA
Telephone: (305) 704-3990
Facsimile: (305) 704-3999
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
 
West Palm Beach, Florida
505 S. Flagler Drive
Suite 300
West Palm Beach, Florida 33401 USA
Telephone: (561) 472-2121
Facsimile: (561) 472-2122
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
Chicago, Illinois
300 N. LaSalle Street, Suite 2100
Chicago, Illinois 60654 USA
Telephone: (312) 280-0111
Facsimile: (312) 280-8232
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
 
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
39533 Woodward Avenue, Suite 318
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan 48304 USA
Telephone: (248) 646-5070
Facsimile: (248) 646-5075
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
Columbus, Ohio
250 West Street
Suite 550
Columbus, Ohio 43215 USA
Telephone: (614) 458-0025
Facsimile: (614) 458-0028
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
 
Search By Firm Name